VCC Championship

Monday, April 10, 2017 - 6:00pm - Thursday, April 13, 2017 - 11:00pm

Macdonald team wins 2016 VCC Championship

The Hamish Macdonald team, previous winners of the VCC Championship, have won again, this time over the Andrew Gray team, last year's champions. Macdonald's team includes Craig Whittaker, Chris Brown and Jan Bos.

The A event final, between the two Thursday Open League teams, was a back and forth battle. Macdonald scored three in the first end, only to see Gray come back with three in the second end and a steal of one in the third end. The game ended after six ends when the Macdonald team scored a five-ender.

The Brock Tully team from the Super Seniors League (Tully, Sandy Greig, Ron McKay and Doug Poulin) won the B event final in six ends over the Joe Krapiec team from the Point Grey League.

2016 VCC Championship Draw

Macdonald team

Left to right: Hamish Macdonald, Jan Bos, Craig Whittaker, Chris Brown


Gray team

Runners-up in the A event final, left to right: Andrew Forrest, Andrew Gray, Dave Marchant and Becky Campbell.

Tully team

These Super Senior League curlers won the B event final. Left to right are Doug Poulin, Brock Tully, Sandy Greig and Ron McKay.

Krapiec team

The Joe Krapiec team from the Point Grey League finished second in the B event.

Rules and Event Details

This four-day event features two draw times taking place every evening of the VCC Championship. All teams are guaranteed a minimum of two games in this event, with a few teams who will have to play two games in one night.

Every game is eight ends and any ties are determined with a draw-to-the-button (only the throwing team can sweep). Should a tie arise, the ‘A’ and ‘B’ Finals are the only two games to be solved with an extra end, played towards the glass. Keep play moving so we can stay as close to the designated draw times as possible.

The remaining event rules - from the Club's Policy and Procedures Manual and as discussed and agreed upon by the leagues reps - are outlined below:

  • The VCC Membership Services Coordinator will organize this event.
  • The championship is a 32-team event.
  • The winner of the VCC Championship will be considered the open champion of the VCC as there will be no gender or age restrictions on participation in the event. 
  • Each league will have the opportunity to nominate at least one team for the VCC Championship. If a league has one or more full draws of eight sheets and part of another draw, it will only be guaranteed a number of entries equal to the number of full draws that the league occupies.
  • Leagues must confirm if they will be filling their allotted spaces in the VCC Championship no later than two weeks before the start of the event. The specific team rosters are due no later than 9:00 pm on the Sunday before the events begins.
  • If there are any open spaces in the draw after all leagues have confirmed or turned down their alloted entries, the remaining spaces will be filled by teams nominated from the leagues. The rotation of which leagues will receive the opportunity to submit additional team names will be done by random draw in January. This rotation will be used for subsequent seasons to fill spaces in the draw. Once the random rotation has been completed one time, a new random draw will be made at the subsequent January league reps meeting.
  • A random selection process at the January league reps meeting will be used to place league entries into the 32-team draw. 
  • The draw will consist of an A and B event single elimination format, with teams placed into the B event if they lose their first game played. 
  • The A event champions receive VCC club champion team jackets, and the A event runners-up, B event winners and B event runners-up receive prizes to be determined by the event organizers. 
  • A curler may only play on one team in the event and must declare before the start of the championship which team he or she will be playing with if successful in qualifying for the championship through more than one league.
  • Teams may employ spares only from the league they are representing and only use curlers who have not already curled in the championship as a regular team member.
  • Spares may play only lead or second. They are not permitted to skip the game and throw first or second rocks.